top of page
Search
  • flowersbylouise

Meet Louise, the one behind the flowers...

Updated: Mar 19, 2021

I didn't dream of becoming a florist, I actually had no idea someone could get paid to play with flowers (let me tell you it’s a lot harder than that) I always wanted to be a photographer, I guess I’ve always had some form of creativity.

My second job after working at a chicken shop was a travailing photography studio, you know the ones that pop up in shopping centers then disappear before you could push your trolley full of groceries to your car?

Yep, one of those is where I thought my photography dream would come true.

While I spent most of my time trying to convince people it was a great idea to model in front of a shopping center full of people, Surprisingly (sarcasm) I had a lot of time to kill,

thankfully most shopping centers would park us right in front of the florist, I would watch the staff create these beautiful arrangements, stare at the bunches on the shop floor and think "how the hell did they make that, out of that" always too nervous to ever actually buy anything because I wouldn't know what to ask for.


I would watch the customer walk in and 5 min later poof! a beautiful bunch was made for them, I knew that I wanted to learn more about this, so I found a florist job, went to Tafe and I was on my way to become one of those people who get paid to play with flowers.

Floristry isn't always pretty flowers and nice smells, I spent my first 3 years not even touching a bouquet at the florist shop, I was cleaning the floor, bleaching the buckets, mopping the cool room and holding my nose while I emptied a bucket of green sludge (it happens) but always watching and learning....

Fast forward to now, I'm still a flower lover, I still get paid to play with flowers but I'm also a dog mum, crazy indoor plant lover, daughter, partner, Aunty, friend, full time worker and most simply I am me!


I have some great support who have helped me along the way and still do to this day, the close network of people who I have around me share the same love and passion for flowers and truly want to help create something amazing, I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO DO IT WITHOUT THEM!

I’ve made some true friends through flowers and I'm so grateful for that.


Truly, I'm still not sure where I want floristry to take me, but I know it will always have something that involves flowers and working with nature and that excites me!





52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page